Sponsor Deadline
Posted: 4/20/2023

AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy

The AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy recognizes an individual or a limited number of individuals working together in the scientific and engineering or foreign affairs communities who are making an outstanding contribution to furthering science diplomacy.

Over the past 30 years, AAAS has honored an international cadre of science diplomacy practitioners whose work lies at the intersection of science, evidence-based decision-making, and diplomacy. AAAS first established the International Scientific Cooperation Award in 1992. The AAAS Board of Directors approves the award since it was renamed the AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy in 2010.

In 2021, the award was renamed for David and Betty Hamburg to recognize their unparalleled commitment to the significant role of science diplomacy to advance science, human rights, peace, and cooperation.

The award recipient receives a monetary prize of $10,000, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration for the AAAS Annual Meeting and reimbursement for travel and hotel expenses to attend, worldwide promotion of their achievements through AAAS communication channels, and the opportunity to publish in Science & Diplomacy about their work.

Nomination Deadline: June 30, 2023

Eligibility Requirements

Any individual or small group in the scientific or foreign policy community that has contributed to the role of science cooperation in building stronger links between and among societies is eligible for the AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy.

  • The award is open to all regardless of nationality or citizenship.
  • Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination.
  • The award accepts self-nominations.
Funding Type