Administration for Community Living -- Supporting State and Community Innovations in Dementia-Specific Respite Programs and Services

Funding Agency:
Department of Health and Human Services

The Administration on Aging (AoA), a division of the Administration for Community Living (ACL) is committed to expanding the availability of dementia-specific respite care in support of people living with dementia (of any age) and their caregivers. Using a model of program design rooted in the issuing of sub-awards to community-based organizations, the successful grantee will be expected to further the development and testing of innovative methods of delivering community-based, dementia-specific respite models, as well as the delivery of training and technical assistance to advance the national capacity to provide such services to people living with dementia (of any age) and their caregivers.

The program is designed to support innovative models of dementia-specific respite care through activities in two priority areas:

Priority Area 1: Advancing the delivery of innovative, community-based, dementia-specific respite care models through sub-grants to home and community-based (HCBS) organizations with the capacity to develop new or translate existing respite models for delivery at the community level. The successful grantee (i.e., the prime grantee) will be expected to use no less than 80% of each total annual budget to support this activity.

Priority Area 2: Training and Technical Assistance that supports increasing the capacity of community-based organizations (the sub-grantees funded under Priority Area 1 and the field more broadly)to implement dementia-specific respite programs and related services. All training and technical assistance activities undertaken in this initiative are expected to be coordinated with other similar activities pertaining to respite and related services. The successful grantee (i.e., the prime grantee) will be expected to use no more than 20% of each total annual budget to support this desired activity.

Deadline: Sep. 25, 2023

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Domestic public or private non-profit entities including state and local governments, Indian tribal governments and organizations (American Indian/Alaskan Native/Native American), faith-based organizations, community-based organizations, hospitals, and institutions of higher education.

For the purposes of this competition, eligible “national organizations” are the domestic public and private non-profit entities (outlined above) with demonstrated capacity to support a program of this scope across the nation, meeting the technical assistance and grant-making requirements described throughout the NOFO. That organization will have the capacity deliver a program designed to improve the delivery of dementia-specific respite for a major, nationwide segment of the older adult and persons with disabilities population. Applications that do not meet the responsiveness criteria outlined in Section III.3b.

Match Calculation: For every three (3) dollars received in Federal funding, you must contribute at least one (1) dollar in non-Federal resources toward the project's total cost.



Amount Description

ACL plans to fund one (1) cooperative agreement at a federal funding level of up to $5,000,000 per year, for five years (60 months), pending the availability of federal funds.

Funding Type





Community Outreach and Engagement
Medical - Clinical Science
Social Sciences

External Deadline

September 25, 2023