Agriculture and Food Research Initiative - Childhood Obesity Prevention Challenge Area

Funding Agency:
US Department of Agriculture

The Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (AFRI) is America’s flagship competitive grants program that provides funding for fundamental and applied research, education, and extension projects in the food and agricultural sciences. The long-term goal of the Childhood Obesity Prevention Challenge Area (AFRI COP) is to reduce the prevalence of overweight and obesity among children and adolescents ages 2–19 years or any subset of this age range. In FY 2017, applications are sought by the program area priority of Integrated Approaches to Prevent Childhood Obesity under this Request for Applications (RFA). 


Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility is linked to the project type requested in Program Area Descriptions beginning in Part I, C. All project types are described beginning in Part II, C. Additional information related to eligibility is found below:

1. Research Projects: Eligible applicants for Research Projects  include:1) State Agricultural Experiment Stations; 2) colleges and universities (including junior colleges offering associate degrees or higher); 3) university research foundations; 4) other research institutions and organizations; 5) federal agencies; 6) national laboratories; 7) private organizations or corporations; 8) individuals who are U.S. citizens, nationals, or permanent residents; and 9) any group consisting of two or more entities identified in 1 through 8. Eligible institutions do not include foreign and international organizations.

2. Integrated Projects: Eligible applicants for Integrated Projects include: 1) colleges and universities, 2) 1994 land-grant institutions, and (3) Hispanic-serving agricultural colleges and universities. For Integrated Projects, the terms "college" and "university" mean an educational institution in any state that 1) admits as regular students only persons having a certificate of graduation from a school providing secondary education, or the recognized equivalent of such a certificate; 2) is legally authorized within such state to provide a program of education beyond secondary education; 3) provides an educational program for which a bachelor’s degree or any other higher degree is awarded; 4) is a public or other nonprofit institution; and 5) is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency or association. A research foundation maintained by a college or university is eligible to receive an award under this program.

3. Hispanic-serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities: Section 7101 of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 (Pub. L. 110-246) amended section 1404 of NARETPA (7 U.S.C. 3103) to create a definition for a new group of cooperating institutions: Hispanic-serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities (HSACU). HSACUs are colleges and universities that qualify as Hispanic-serving institutions (HSI) and offer associate, bachelors, or other accredited degree programs in agriculture-related fields. HSACUs do not include 1862 land-grant institutions.

4. Food and Agricultural Science Enhancement Grants: The Food and Agricultural Science Enhancement (FASE) grants have additional eligibility requirements. See Part II, D, 3 for details.



Amount Description

Standard Grants, Strengthening Standard Grants, and New Investigator Grants must not exceed $500,000 per year, including indirect costs, for project periods of up to 5 years ($2.5 million total per project). The program anticipates making up to 3 awards. 

Funding Type





Curriculum Development
Environmental & Life Sciences
Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational
Social Sciences

External Deadline

June 28, 2017