Air Force Research Laboratory -- Sensor Innovative Research

Funding Agency:
Department of Defense

The Electromagnetics Technology Division (RYH), Sensors Directorate (RY), Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), conducts research in the following areas:

- Antenna Technology: The objective of this research is to advance antenna and electromagnetic technology for air, ground and space-based applications like radar, communications, satellite operations, and intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance systems, from VHF to W-Band frequencies.

- Opto-Electronic Technology: The objective of this work is basic and exploratory development of optical and optoelectronic components, subsystems, and algorithms for space and air image restoration/recognition, multispectral detection and tracking, threat warning, countermeasures, missile guidance and high bandwidth communications and data network systems.

- Electromagnetic Scattering: The objective of this research is to advance the field of detection, tracking, and fusion of data of difficult targets in rapidly varying environments utilizing electromagnetic scattering theory and situational awareness methodologies for characterization of plasma turbulence impacts to hypersonic sensors and Over-the-Horizon radars (OTHR), development of efficient schemes to overcome communication blackout in plasmas, and the development of architectures and algorithms for joint intelligence, surveillance, reconnaissance, navigation, communications, and situational awareness.

- Infrared Sensor Technology: The objective of this research is to promote novel sensors, sensor technologies or algorithms for chemical and biological detection and sensing, thermal imaging, solar cells, hyper- and multispectral sensing, thermal energy mitigation, and increasing detector efficiency.

The BAA is open and effective until 05 April 2017. White Papers will be considered if received anytime prior to 1600 EST on 05 April 2017.

Agency Website

Areas of Interest

The primary research interests of the division are as follows:
1) Phased Array Antennas
2) Electrically Small Antennas
3) Theoretical and Computational Electromagnetics
4) Electromagnetically-Responsive Structures and Materials
5) Crystal Growth of Sensor Materials
6) Discrete and Integrated Quantum Optic Components
7) Advanced Sensors and Emitters
8) Image Recognition and Restoration in Cluttered Environments
9) Sensors Aboard Hypersonic Vehicles
10) Plasma Applications for Over-the-Horizon Radar Physics
11) Parametric Excitation of EM Whistler Waves in the Ionosphere
12) Electromagnetic and Optical Wave Interaction with Complex Media
13) Enhanced Sensing Applications for Metamaterials
14) Sensor Information Processing and Integration
15) Self-Assembled Plasmonic and Nanoresonant Arrays
16) Nanostructures & Gain Media for Photonic Synthetic Matter
17) Programmable Reconfigurable Sensors
18) Electronically-Reconfigurable Millimeter and Terahertz Wavelength Pyroelectric Detectors
19) Plasmonic-Based Chemical and Biological Sensors
20) Novel EO/IR, Spectral and Common Aperture EO/RF Hardware and Algorithms



Amount Description

Estimated Program Cost: $50K - $1M per award. $24.9 Million Overall Program Ceiling.

Funding Type





Engineering and Physical Sciences

External Deadline

April 5, 2017