Alan T. Waterman Award (Nominations Requested)

Funding Agency:
National Science Foundation

Congress established the Alan T. Waterman Award in August 1975 to mark the 25th Anniversary of the National Science Foundation and to honor its first Director. The annual award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over a five year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient's choice.

Deadline for Nominations: Sep. 15, 2023

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

  • Nominees must:

    • Be U.S. citizens or permanent residents.
    • Be 40 years of age or younger OR not be more than 10 years beyond receipt of their Ph.D. by December 31st of the year they are nominated.
  • Nominees should have demonstrated exceptional individual achievements in scientific or engineering research of sufficient quality, originality, innovation and significant impact on the field to place them at the forefront of their peers.



Funding Type



Junior Faculty


Engineering and Physical Sciences
Environmental & Life Sciences
Social Sciences

External Deadline

September 15, 2023