Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards

Funding Agency:
Association of American Medical Colleges

The Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA) Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards were established by the AΩA medical honor society in 1988 to recognize faculty members who have distinguished themselves in medical student education. The award is named for longtime AΩA executive secretary Robert J. Glaser, MD.

The Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards recognize outstanding contributions to medical education made by gifted teachers. Up to four awards are granted each year.

Each awardee will receive a $10,000 prize. The awardee’s nominating institution will receive a grant of $2,500 for teaching activities, and, if the nominating institution has an AΩA chapter, the chapter will receive a $1,000 grant for support of its activities. Nominations are due Friday, April 5, 2024.

If you are interested in finding out more about this award, please contact Diana McNeill, Director of Duke AHEAD.

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

  • Nominees must hold the rank of Assistant Professor or higher in either a tenure or non - tenure track.
  • Nominees’ educational accomplishments should be principally in medical student education. Nominees’ accomplishments in medical student education will include innovative work and products in the support and delivery of the educational program (e.g., technological enhancements to assist medical students in the learning process).
  • Nominees should have received prior recognition as outstanding teachers, either from their institution, another institution, or state, regional, or national organizations.
  • Nominees who have published in the field of medical education and whose educational materials have been adopted by other institutions will be especially considered. • An institutional system for selecting candidates that provides for broad student participation and the peer judgment of faculty colleagues will be favored.
  • Previous nominees may be nominated again.
  • Nominations for posthumous awards cannot be considered.



Funding Type





Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational

External Deadline

April 5, 2024