APF COGDOP Graduate Student Scholarships

Funding Agency:
American Psychological Foundation

APF awards 21 annual scholarships for graduate student research:

  • $5,000 Harry and Miriam Levinson Scholarship 
  • $3,000 William and Dorothy Bevan Scholarship 
  • $5,000 Charles and Carol Spielberger Scholarship 
  • $5,000 Peter and Malina James & Dr. Louis P. James Legacy Scholarship 
  • $3,000 Ruth G. and Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship 
  • $2,500 William C. Howell Scholarship
  • $2,000 Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship
  • $2,000 Raymond K. Mulhern Scholarship
  • $2,000 Dr. Judy Kuriansky Scholarship
  • 12 additional $2,000 scholarships

Deadline: June 30, 2024

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

APF encourages applicants from diverse backgrounds with respect to age, race, color, religion, creed, nationality, ability, sexual orientation, gender, and geography.

Graduate students enrolled in an interim master’s program or doctoral program are eligible to apply. If a student is currently enrolled in a terminal master’s program, the student must intend to enroll in a PhD program. Students at any stage of graduate study are encouraged to apply. The purpose of the scholarship program is to assist graduate students of psychology with research costs associated with the master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation. The American Psychological Association Science Directorate administers the granting of the scholarships.

Each graduate department of psychology that is a member of COGDOP may submit nominations. The number of candidates that each member department is allowed to nominate depends upon the total number of students enrolled in the graduate program. Departments that have 100 or fewer students enrolled in their graduate programs may nominate one (1) candidate; departments that have 101-200 graduate students enrolled may nominate up to two (2) candidates; and departments that have more than 200 graduate students enrolled may nominate up to three (3) candidates. NOTE: nominees must be currently enrolled in the graduate program at the time grants are awarded.


Funding Type



Grad/Prof Students
Minorities encouraged


Medical - Clinical Science
Social Sciences

External Deadline

June 30, 2024