Sponsor Deadline
Posted: 4/10/2024

Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize

Nominations are being accepted for the 2024 Clarke Prize, which is awarded for outstanding achievement in water science and technology. National Water Research Institute (NWRI) administers the $50,000 prize offered by the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Foundation. 

‚ÄčThe Clarke Prize is awarded annually to thought leaders in water research, science, technology, or policy. Clarke Prize nominees and laureates are from wide-ranging disciplines including civil and environmental engineering, water science, biological science, health science, political science, physical and chemical science, and public policy. Nominees must work in the United States or have a significant body of work within the United States. For information, contact Mary Collins, mcollins@nwri-usa.org

Nominations must be received by May 7, 2024.

Areas of Interest
  • The recipient must be currently active in research (science- or policy-related) that focuses on the discovery, development, improvement, and/or understanding of the issues associated with water quality, quantity, technology, or public policy.
  • The recipient must be currently practicing within the United States or must have built a significant body of work within the United States.
  • The recipient must be available to attend the Clarke Prize Conference and Award Ceremony, which is held in early November in Southern California.
  • As part of the award, the recipient must deliver the annual Clarke Lecture. 

Self-nominations are not accepted.

The Clarke Prize recipient is selected by the Clarke Prize Executive Committee after careful consideration of all qualifying nominees. The fields of interests of Clarke Prize nominees include, but are not limited to, engineering, physical and chemical sciences, biological sciences, health sciences, political sciences, and planning and public policy.

The Executive Committee will review nominees based on the following criteria:

  • Professional career achievements.
  • Active engagement in current research and/or policy endeavors.
  • Accomplishments in the increase of public knowledge/awareness of water issues.
  • Proven leadership in the advancement and production of safe and sustainable water supplies.