Awards and Grants

Funding Agency:
American Lung Association

For over 115 years the American Lung Association has focused on driving excellence and innovation through research. Today, we continue to support trailblazing research, novel ideas and innovative approaches with the hope of eliminating lung disease and improving life for those living with lung disease. Together, we are investing in brilliant scientific minds of the future and supporting projects with the potential to improve prevention, detection and treatment options.

Through the lens of scientific innovation, pioneering new ideas, the American Lung Association is championing the next generation of brilliant scientists to independence and beyond.

Key Dates:

  • September 10, 2020: Lung Cancer Discovery Award Letters of Intent (LOI) Due
  •  November 1, 2020: Lung Cancer Discovery Award LOI outcome notifications sent
  • December 10, 2020: Applications due for the Catalyst Award; Dalsemer Award; Respiratory Diseases Award; Public Policy Award; Innovation Award; and Lung Cancer Discovery Award proposals due (invitation only.)

Agency Website

Areas of Interest

  • Lung Cancer Discovery Award: $100,000 per year for up to two years
    Intended to support independent investigators conducting clinical, laboratory, epidemiological or any groundbreaking project aimed at revolutionizing our current understanding of lung cancer and improving diagnostic, clinical and treatment methods. A Letter of Intent (LOI) is required for this award.
  • Allergic Respiratory Diseases Award$75,000 per year for up to two years
    A long-standing joint effort between the American Lung Association and the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology to encourage and support early-stage investigators with a primary faculty appointment in an allergy/immunology division or section, to conduct research into advancing the understanding of allergic respiratory disease.
  • Innovation Award: $75,000 per year for up to two years
    This award will support promising independent investigators who are leveraging their existing body of work to conduct basic science, behavioral, clinical, or translational research for lung health.
  • Catalyst Award: $50,000 per year for up to two years
    This award champions the next generation of scientists who are ascending toward independence by supporting mentored-investigators who are conducting basic science, behavioral, clinical or translational research into lung health.
  • Public Policy Research Award: $50,000 per year for up to two years
    This mechanism is designed to help stimulate and inform important public policy debates around healthy air and lung disease. This award supports research on and evaluation of existing public policy and programs, as well as projects that inject innovative ideas into public policies impacting lung health.
  • Dalsemer Award: $50,000 per year for up to two years 
    This is a mentored award meant to provide seed monies to junior investigators for researching the mechanisms and biology of interstitial lung disease.
  • Lung Cancer Research Award$40,000 per year for up to two years
    A new joint award with The Society of Thoracic Surgeons, this award is available for cardiothoracic surgeons, pulmonologists and other investigators – primarily those early in their careers – who are seeking support and recognition for their original lung cancer research projects. Applications are due September 15, 2019.

Eligibility Requirements

Education and Experience
At the time of application, an applicant must hold a doctoral degree, have a faculty appointment at an academic institution (including research institutions not formally associated with a university), and have completed a training fellowship. Applicants may be at any level of research experience. Applicants must be independent, self-directed researchers for whom their institution must provide space and other resources customary for independent investigators. The application must convey the commitment of the institution to the applicant and the proposed research activities.

At the time of application, candidates must be United States citizens or foreign nationals holding one of the following visa immigration statuses: permanent resident (Green Card), exchange visitor (J-1), temporary worker in a specialty occupation (H-1, H-1B), Canadian or Mexican citizen engaging in professional activities (TC or TN), or temporary worker with extraordinary abilities in the sciences (O-1). Non-citizens must submit a notarized copy of proof of possession of a Green Card or J-1, H-1, H-1B, TC, TN or O-1 visas. At the time of application and throughout the award, an applicant/awardee must be employed by a U.S. institution.



Amount Description

Up to $100,000 per year for two years.

Funding Type



Junior Faculty


Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational
Social Sciences

External Deadline

December 10, 2020