Awards for the Promotion and Mentoring of Women

Funding Agency:
Society for Neuroscience

These awards honor individuals, both male and female, who have made significant contributions to the advancement of women in neuroscience.

  • Patricia Goldman-Rakic Hall of Honor: Posthumously recognizes a neuroscientist who has pursued career excellence and exhibited dedication the advancement of women in neuroscience.

  • Bernice Grafstein Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Mentoring: $2,500 awarded to an individual who has shown a dedication to mentoring women neuroscientists and facilitating their entry or retention in the field.

  • Louise Hanson Marshall Special Recognition Award: Honors an individual who has significantly promoted the professional development of women in neuroscience through teaching, organizational leadership, public advocacy, or other efforts that are not necessarily related to research.

  • Mika Salpeter Lifetime Achievement Award: $5,000 presented to an individual with outstanding career achievements in neuroscience who has also significantly promoted the professional advancement of women in neuroscience.

Deadline: May 14, 2021

Agency Website

Funding Type





Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Social Sciences

External Deadline

June 12, 2021