BMES Awards

Funding Agency:
Biomedical Engineering Society

BMES recognizes individuals for their accomplishments, significant contributions, and service to the Society and the field of biomedical engineering. BMES accepts nominations and applications for the following annual awards:


Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award (For 2025) - This award is BMES's premier recognition. Each year, the Society bestows this prestigious award to individuals who have demonstrated impactful leadership and accomplishments in biomedical engineering science and practice.

Athanasiou Medal of Excellence in Translational Bioengineering - The BMES Athanasiou Medal of Excellence in Translational Bioengineering Award (the Athanasiou Medal) recognizes achievements of an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of biomedical engineering with particular focus on translation.

Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation - The Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation Award recognizes achievements of an individual who is integrally involved in the development of a biomedical device, diagnostic test/device or combination device drug/device in industry.

Diversity Lecture Award - The BMES Diversity Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for impactful contributions toward improving gender and racial diversity in biomedical engineering. The award seeks to recognize lifetime achievements and high-impact activities (i.e., research, academia, and service) that are innovative and improve equity among biomedical engineering academia and industry.

Mid-Career Award - The BMES Mid-Career Award recognizes a member in good standing who has demonstrated significant leadership and achievements in biomedical engineering. These achievements may be in scholarship, education, mentorship, leadership, or the practice of biomedical engineering.

Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award - Each year, BMES offers the Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award to stimulate research careers in biomedical engineering.

BMES Grade of Fellow (Class of 2024) - The BMES Grade of Fellow is a professional distinction granted by the Board of Directors upon a BMES member. This individual has demonstrated impactful achievements and has made significant contributions within the biomedical engineering community. They also have considerable leadership within their field of interest and served within the Society.

Deadline: May 31, 2024

Agency Website

Funding Type



Grad/Prof Students
Post Doctoral Fellows


Engineering and Physical Sciences
Medical - Basic Science

External Deadline

May 31, 2024