Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

Funding Agency:
Dreyfus (Camille and Henry) Foundation

The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program supports the research and teaching careers of talented young faculty in the chemical sciences. Based on institutional nominations, the program provides discretionary funding to faculty at an early stage in their careers. Criteria for selection include an independent body of scholarship attained in the early years of their appointment (see below), and a demonstrated commitment to education, signaling the promise of continuing outstanding contributions to both research and teaching. The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program provides an unrestricted research grant of $100,000.

Institutions may submit only one Camille Dreyfus nomination annually. Interested applicants from within Duke should contact as early as possible.

Deadline: Feb. 1, 2023

A list of past recipients can be found at:

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program is open to academic institutions in the States, Districts, and Territories of the United States of America that grant a bachelor’s or higher degree in the chemical sciences, including biochemistry, materials chemistry, and chemical engineering. Nominees must hold a full-time tenure-track academic appointment, and are normally expected to have been appointed no earlier than mid-year 2017. Awardees are from Ph.D. granting departments in which scholarly research is a principal activity. Undergraduate education is an important component. Institutions may submit only one Camille Dreyfus nomination annually. Renominations are accepted.



Amount Description

The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award provides a $100,000 unrestricted research grant. Of the total amount, $7,500 is for departmental expenses associated with research and education. Charges associated with indirect costs or institutional overhead are not allowed. Defrayal of academic-year salary is not permitted. Funds are normally expended over a period of five years. Foundation approval is not required for budgetary changes after an award is made. If the awardee leaves the institution, the transfer of the remaining funds requires prior Foundation approval.

Funding Type


Duke Awardees

2020 - Emily Derbyshire

2016 - Qiu Wang

2009 - Katherine J. Franz
Chemical Tools to Manipulate Metal-Catalyzed Oxidative Stress

2001 - Ross Widenhoefer
Palladium-catalyzed carbocyclization of functionalized dienes

2000 - Mark W. Grinstaff
Mechanistic studies of charge transfer in DNA

1996 - Mark J. Burk
Design, development and application of asymmetric catalytic processes


Junior Faculty


Engineering and Physical Sciences

External Deadline

February 1, 2023