Canada Gairdner Awards

Funding Agency:
Gairdner Foundation

The Canada Gairdner Awards recognize the world’s most creative and accomplished biomedical scientists who are advancing humanity and the world.

Annually, seven awards are given: five Canada Gairdner International Awards for biomedical research, the John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award, specifically for impact on global health issues, and the Canada Gairdner Wightman Award, reserved for a Canadian scientist showcasing scientific excellence and leadership.

Each laureate receives $100,000 CDN that they can put towards anything they wish. Laureates have put their winnings towards their labs, their research or even paid for their niece to attend medical school.

The Gairdner Foundation is committed to increasing the diversity and gender equity of our awards.

Deadline for Nominations: Oct. 1, 2019

Agency Website

Funding Type



Women and minorities encouraged


Environmental & Life Sciences
Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational

External Deadline

October 1, 2019