Conquer Cancer Foundation -- Advanced Clinical Research Award (ACRA) in Breast Cancer

Funding Agency:
American Society of Clinical Oncology

The Advanced Clinical Research Award (ACRA) is a topic-specific competition designed to support physician-scientists committed to performing original, clinical cancer research in an area not currently funded. This research must have a patient-oriented focus, including a clinical research study and/or translational research involving human subjects. The ACRA is a three-year grant totaling $450,000 to pay for personnel and/or research expenses, and travel to attend the CCF Grants and Awards Ceremony at the ASCO Annual Meeting. 

Past ACRA topics have included:

  • Breast Cancer
  • Colorectal Cancer
  • Glioma
  • Hematological Malignancies
  • Lung cancer
  • Sarcoma

The number of ACRA grants in each funding cycle is not predetermined by the Conquer Cancer Foundation. Awards are given based on individual merit and availability of funds. 

Deadline: Oct. 2, 2017

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must meet the following criteria to qualify for the Advanced Clinical Research Award:

  • Be a physician (MD, DO, or international equivalent) working in any country
  • Be in the fourth to ninth year of a full-time, primary faculty appointment in a clinical department at an academic medical institution at the time of grant submission.
  • Have completed productive post-doctoral/post fellowship research and demonstrated the ability to undertake independent investigator-initiated clinical research.
  • Be an ASCO member (Full Member or International Corresponding Member) or have submitted a membership application with the grant application.
  • Be able to commit 75% of full-time effort in research (applies to total research, not just the proposed project) during the award period.



Funding Type



Junior Faculty


Medical - Clinical Science

External Deadline

October 2, 2017