David and Beatrix Hamburg Award for Advances in Biomedical Research and Clinical Medicine

Funding Agency:
National Academies

The David and Beatrix Hamburg Award for Advances in Biomedical Research and Clinical Medicine will be presented annually by the National Academy if Medicine to recognize creative and accomplished biomedical scientists who are advancing health and the human condition around the world.

Named for David Hamburg, who was president of the Institute of Medicine from 1975-1980, and Beatrix Hamburg, an NAM member and expert in child and adolescent behavioral health, this new award is accompanied by a medal and $50,000. The award will be funded by an endowment that was established in 2004 in honor of the Hamburgs’ life and legacy. 

Deadline for Nominations: May 15, 2024

Agency Website

Areas of Interest

Each year, a selection committee appointed by the National Academy of Medicine considers the following criteria when determining the winner of the Hamburg Award.  The Hamburg Award is awarded to one or more scientists in recognition of an exceptional biomedical research discovery and/or translation that has fundamentally enriched our understanding of human biology and disease, leading to a significant reduction of disease burden and improvement in human health.

Award Criteria:

Principal selection criteria

  • Discovery, translation, or public health intervention of impact which has led to improvement in human health and/or reduction in health inequities; and
  • Innovative, creative, and pioneering achievement; and
  • The nominee(s)’ unique contributions to the achievement
  • Achievement was not previously recognized by a substantive international award

Additional selection criteria

  • Demonstration of a qualitative and quantitative impact on health disparities
  • Interdisciplinary science and collaborations are positively viewed



Funding Type





Environmental & Life Sciences
Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science

External Deadline

May 15, 2024