Denham Fellowship for Women Directors

Funding Agency:
Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation

Established by Mary Orr Denham in 2006 with a bequest to the SDC Foundation in honor of her late husband, Reginald H. F. Denham, the Denham Fellowship is an awarded annually to women who are early and mid-career directors to further develop their directing skills. The Denham Fellowship recipient will be selected by the Denham Committee, which is made up of theatre professionals.

Past recipients include Colette Robert, Arpita Mukherjee, Michelle Bossy, May Adrales, Tea Alagic, Rachel Alderman, Kathleen Amshoff, Jessi Hill, Joanie Schultz, Pirronne Yousefzadeh, Bridget Leak, Hannah Ryan, Diane Rodriguez, and Shirley Jo Finney.

Candidates may apply to the Denham Fellowship under one of two plans: fee enhancement or self-producing. Under fee enhancement, the Denham Fellowship augments a fee offered to the Director by a theatre or producer.  Under self-producing, the Denham fellowship will serve as or augment the Director’s fee.

Deadline: Oct. 18, 2023

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be Members or Associate Members of Stage Directors and Choreographers Society. In accordance with the donor’s bequest, this is an award specifically for women.



Funding Type





Arts & Humanities

External Deadline

October 18, 2023