Fiscal Year 2021 Homeland Security National Training Program (HSNTP) - Continuing Training Grants (CTG)

Funding Agency:
Department of Homeland Security

Through its Continuing Training Grants (CTG) program, the Department of Homeland Security Fiscal Year (FY) 2021 Homeland Security National Training Program (HSNTP) plays an important role in the National Preparedness System. The CTG program supports building, sustaining, and delivering core capabilities through the development and delivery of training to achieve the National Preparedness Goal (the Goal), which is “a secure and resilient Nation with the capabilities required across the whole community to prevent, protect against, mitigate, respond to, and recover from the threats and hazards that pose the greatest risk”.

Specifically, the CTG program provides funding for eligible applicants to support and target training solutions for state, local, tribal, and territorial (SLTT) partners, supporting the objective of the National Preparedness System to facilitate an integrated, whole community, risk-informed, capabilities-based approach to preparedness.

The FY 2021 CTG program’s purpose is to address specific threats and gaps through the development and delivery of learning solutions and facilitate a national whole community approach to focus on the challenges with the greatest impact on the Nation’s preparedness. FEMA, through CTG recipients, will concentrate on developing training to address national priorities while considering the challenges presented by a pandemic environment.

Deadline: Aug. 16, 2021

Agency Website

Areas of Interest

The FY 2021 CTG Focus Areas are:

• Public Health Emergencies; Pandemic Preparedness and Response;

• Mass Care—Community Sheltering and Relocation Assistance; and

• Equity in Tribal and Rural Preparedness.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible Applicants • State governments, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territory governments • City or township governments • County governments • Federally recognized Indian tribal governments (tribal governments) • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) Internal Revenue Service (IRS) status • Nonprofit private institutions of higher education • Nonprofit national associations and organizations • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education

Training Expertise. Applicants must currently administer an existing training program, consistent with the National Incident Management System (NIMS), relevant to the selected Training Topic(s), or have demonstrable expertise to create and administer a training program capable of developing and delivering training for a national whole community audience, relevant to the selected Training Topic(s). For the purposes of the CTG program, the minimum standard for training expertise is defined as the principal activities that an organization conducts which are primarily focused on the development and delivery of training for an external audience, but may include an internal audience, resulting in a change or increase of knowledge, skills, and/or abilities. Training types/modes that meet this definition include web-based training, instructor-led courses conducted in classrooms and/or training areas (to include mobile courses), and seminars and workshops that measure a change in knowledge, skill, and/or abilities. Drill and exercise-only type activities, without a learning component, do not meet the definition of training expertise for the CTG program. Organizations that do not describe suitable expertise in training are ineligible. 

Funding Type





Community Outreach and Engagement
Medical - Clinical Science
Social Sciences

External Deadline

August 16, 2021