Fiscal Year (FY) 2021 Building Partner Capacity and Promoting Resiliency and Equity under Clean Water Act Wetlands, Nonpoint Source, Monitoring, Assessment and Listing Programs

Funding Agency:
Environmental Protection Agency

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is soliciting applications from eligible applicants to provide support for training and related activities to build the capacity of agricultural partners, state, territorial and tribal officials and nongovernmental stakeholders in activities to be carried out to support the goals of the Clean Water Act (CWA) Section 303(d) Program, the Nonpoint Source (CWA Section 319) Program, the Wetlands Program, the CWA 401 Program, and the Water Quality Monitoring Program. Awardees will assess and assist state, territorial and tribal officials, nongovernmental stakeholders, and other stakeholders through knowledge exchange and capacity building.

Deadline: Aug. 10, 2021

Agency Website

Areas of Interest

  • National Priority Area I: Nonpoint Source Agricultural Conservation Benefit Assessment and Partner Training
  • National Priority Area II: Advance the State of Professional Training for Watershed Planners and Coordinators
  • National Priority Area III: Training and Related Activities to Advance Integration of Clean Water Act programs with Natural Hazard Mitigation Planning and Implementation
  • National Priority Area IV: State and Tribal Nonpoint Source Program Training Workshops
  • National Priority Area V: Wetland Program Training Workshops
  • National Priority Area VI: Training Workshops on Fish Monitoring and Advisory Programs and Recreational Waters or Beach Monitoring Programs
  • National Priority Area VII: Clean Water Act Tribal Wetland and Water Quality Assessment and Management Workshops
  • National Priority Area VIII: State and Tribal Aquatic Resource Monitoring Technical Training and Capacity Building Workshops
  • National Priority Area IX: Clean Water Act Section 303(d) National Listing and TMDL Training Workshops
  • National Priority Area X: Training and Related Activities to Advance CWA Section 303(d) Program Implementation
  • National Priority Area XI: Cross-Program (CWA Section 303(c), 303(d) and 402) Training Workshops to advance effective and integrated implementation of CWA programs

Eligibility Requirements

States, local governments, federally recognized Indian Tribes, intertribal consortia, interstate agencies, territories, possessions of the U.S. (including the District of Columbia), public and private universities and colleges, hospitals, laboratories and public or private non-profit institutions2 are eligible to apply. Individuals and for-profit entities are not eligible. While not considered to be a non-profit organization(s) as defined by 2 CFR Part 200, Institutions of Higher Education and state, local and federally-recognized Indian tribal governments are, nevertheless, eligible to submit applications under this RFA. Non-profit organizations described in section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code that engage in lobbying activities as defined in section 3 of the Lobbying Disclosure Act of 1995 are not eligible to apply under this announcement. EPA may ask applicants to demonstrate that they are eligible for funding under this announcement.

Each application submitted under this announcement must address one, and only one, of the National Priority Areas (Area I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, or XI) listed in Section I.B. Applicants may submit more than one application package under this announcement as long as each application is separately submitted and is for a different project. Applications must address only one National Priority Area. The cover page of each application package must clearly indicate the National Priority Area addressed. Applications that address more than one National Priority Area will be deemed ineligible and will not be reviewed. In addition, applications for National Priority Area VII must address the two elements of that priority as described in Section I.B.

Funding Type





Community Outreach and Engagement
Curriculum Development
Environmental & Life Sciences

External Deadline

August 10, 2021