Sponsor Deadline
Posted: 1/26/2024

Harvey Prize -- Nominations Requested

The Harvey Prize rewards excellence by recognizing breakthroughs in science and technology. The monetary Prize is a banner of recognition for men and women who have truly contributed to the progress of humanity. No less, however, the Prize is a source of inspiration. Serving as stimulus, the award urges scientists and scholars forward to further accomplishment.

The Harvey Prize is awarded annually in a variety of disciplines within the categories of Science & Technology and Human Health. The Harvey Prize has also been awarded for Contribution to Peace in the Middle East.

Harvey Prize winners are selected by a council of world-renowned scientists and experts in each field through a rigorous selection process. The Harvey Prize Council, comprised of the President of the Technion, one Vice-President, Dean of the Graduate School, two representatives of both the Israel National Academy of Science and the Technion Senate, reviews all nominations. The Council then makes recommendations, which are scrutinized by professional evaluation committees in the respective fields, and then to the Technion Senate Committee for Honorary Degrees and Prizes. Once the Harvey family and the American Technion Society (ATS) have been formally notified of the choice of finalists, the President of the Technion informs the awardees of their impending honor.

Laureates are requested to come to the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology to receive their awards. While in Israel, recipients give lectures and meet with Israeli scientists, academicians, and leaders at Technion and other universities. Material from these lectures is published in a continuing library, the Harvey Prize Papers.

Two prizes for 2023-2024 nominations will be awarded during the year 2025, in the field of "Science and Technology".


Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2024

Areas of Interest

The prizes are awarded each year in a five year cycle in two of the following fields of human endeavour:

  • 1st Year Two prizes in Science and Technology
  • 2nd Year One prize in Science and Technology; One prize in Human Health
  • 3rd Year Two prizes in Science and Technology
  • 4th Year One prize in Science and Technology; One prize in Human Health
  • 5th Year One prize in Science and Technology; One prize for Outstanding Contribution to Peace in the Middle East or Outstanding Contribution to the Economy or Society
Amount Description

The Harvey Prize is derived from a donation made by the Lena P. Harvey Foundation to the American Technion Society in September 1971. Two awards of $75,000 each are made annually. The prize winners receive their awards at the Technion.