Holberg Prize

Funding Agency:
Holberg Prize

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social science, law or theology, either in one of these fields or through interdisciplinary work.

The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament 1 July 2003, and was awarded for the first time in 2004.The objective of the prize is to increase awareness of the value of academic scholarship in the arts,humanities, social sciences, law and theology. The Prize has a money value of NOK 6 000,000 (approx. EUR 620,000 / USD 700,000). The Prize is named after the Danish-Norwegian writer Ludvig Holberg, who excelled in all of the sciences covered by the award.

Scholars holding positions at universities, academies and other research institutions, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize. Please note that all text and attachments must be written in English.

The nomination deadline is 15 June, 2019.

Agency Website

Funding Type





Arts & Humanities
International Opportunities
Social Sciences

External Deadline

June 15, 2019