Sponsor Deadline
Posted: 6/27/2023

Innovator Awards Program for Inflammatory Bowel Disease Research

The Kenneth Rainin Foundation believes that early support for innovative ideas can lead to improvements in preventing, predicting, diagnosing and treating Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). Our Health grantmaking enables researchers worldwide to test ideas, gather and share data, and collaborate to advance the understanding of IBD. In 2022, we consolidated our Innovator Awards and Synergy Awards into one grant program—the Innovator Awards.

Innovator Awards support individual research projects with grants of up to $150,000 and collaborative projects involving multiple investigators with grants of up to $300,000. Grantees who demonstrate significant progress are eligible for up to two years of additional support.

Deadline for Letter of Inquiry: Sep. 30, 2023

Eligibility Requirements
  • Researchers from any scientific discipline worldwide are eligible for funding.
  • Typically, the researchers we fund hold advanced degrees (MD, PhD or the equivalent) and academic positions at universities, medical centers or research institutions.
  • Innovator Awards may only have one Principal Investigator, and funding is awarded to their home institution. Additional investigators may be included as Co-Investigators, and the lead institution can create subawards.
  • Postdocs are not eligible to apply as a Principal Investigator.
  • Current and former Rainin Foundation grantees are eligible to apply.
  • Researchers may submit multiple proposals, as long as there are distinct aims and objectives for each proposal.
Funding Type