Lasker Awards - Invitation for Nominations

Funding Agency:
Lasker Foundation

The Lasker Awards are among the most respected science prizes in the world. Since 1945, the Awards Program has recognized the contributions of scientists, physicians, and public servants who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, and prevention of human disease. Lasker Awards often presage future recognition by the Nobel committee, so they have become popularly known as "America's Nobels." Eighty-seven Lasker laureates have received the Nobel Prize, including 43 in the last three decades.

The Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award honors scientists whose fundamental investigations have provided techniques, information, or concepts contributing to the elimination of major causes of disability and death.

The Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award honors investigators whose contributions have improved the clinical treatment of patients.

The Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science honors scientists whose contributions to research are of unique magnitude and have immeasurable influence on the course of science, health, or medicine, and whose professional careers have engendered within the biomedical community the deepest feelings of awe and respect.

The Lasker~Bloomberg Public Service Award honors men and women who have helped make possible the federal legislation and funding that supports research, and who have created public communication, public health, and advocacy programs of major importance.

The Lasker Awards will be offered in three categories in 2020: Basic ResearchClinical Research, and Special Achievement. The Public Service Award, presented every other year, will next be given in 2021.

Nomination deadline is February 3, 2020.

Agency Website

Funding Type



Women and minorities encouraged


Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational

External Deadline

February 3, 2020