Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Funding Agency:
Academy of American Poets

Established in 1975, this $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous calendar year. The prize includes distribution of the winning book to hundreds of Academy of American Poets members.

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize honors the memory of Lenore Marshall (1897-1971), a poet, novelist, essayist, and political activist. She was the author of three novels, three books of poetry, a collection of short stories, and selections from her notebooks. Her work appeared in such distinguished literary magazines asThe New YorkerThe Saturday Review, and Partisan Review. In 1956 she helped found the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy, the citizens’ organization that lobbied successfully for passage of the 1963 partial nuclear test ban treaty. In 1994, the Academy was selected by the New Hope Foundation to administer the award.

Deadline: May 15, annually

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be U.S. citizens.



Funding Type



Grad/Prof Students
Junior Faculty
Post Doctoral Fellows


Arts & Humanities
International Opportunities

External Deadline

May 15, 2024