The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize

Funding Agency:
Association for Research in Vision and Opthalmology

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize provides a $30,000 award in recognition of an outstanding scholarly article on glaucoma published in a peer-reviewed journal during the previous calendar year.

The intent of the Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize is to recognize and encourage exemplary scholarly research in the field of glaucoma. Lewis Rudin was a prominent real estate developer in New York City. The award is funded by the May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation with support of his brother Jack Rudin.

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was established in 1995 through the New York Academy of Medicine and has become a prestigious award within the glaucoma and ophthalmology communities. The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was transferred to the ARVO Foundation in 2019.

Deadline: Sep. 1, 2020

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

The following criteria and award policies govern eligibility for the award:

  • Nominees must be an ARVO member
  • Nominee may be the first or last author on the article submitted for consideration
  • Articles must have a publication date in the previous calendar year
  • Self-nominations are permitted; only one submission is permitted per award cycle
  • There are no geographic or citizenship restrictions



Funding Type



Junior Faculty


Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science

External Deadline

September 1, 2020