National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) - Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers

Funding Agency:
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS), is accepting applications for fiscal year (FY) 2016 National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) - Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers grants.  The purpose of the Category II, TSA Centers is to provide national expertise for specific types of traumatic events, population groups and service systems, and support the specialized adaptation of effective evidence-based treatment and service approaches for communities across the nation. 

To date, the NCTSI has developed and implemented evidence-based interventions and promising practices to reduce immediate distress from exposure to traumatic events; developed and provided training in trauma-focused approaches and services for use in child mental health clinics, schools, child welfare and juvenile justice settings, among other service areas; and developed widely used intervention protocols for disaster victims.

The work of this initiative is carried out by a national network of grantees – the National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) – that works collaboratively to develop and promote evidence-based trauma treatment, services, and other resources for children, adolescents, and families exposed to an array of traumatic events.  The NCTSN members collaborate with one another, and partner with systems of care where children, adolescents, and families who have experienced trauma receive services in their communities.   For more background information on the NCTSN, see Appendix III.

SAMHSA has identified six Strategic Initiatives to focus the agency’s work on improving lives and capitalizing on emerging opportunities.  This announcement is part of SAMHSA’s effort to achieve the goals of the SAMHSA Trauma and Justice Strategic Initiative by reducing the impact of trauma and violence on children, youth, and families, and addressing trauma-related issues throughout behavioral health, health, and social service systems.  More information on SAMHSA’s Strategic Initiatives is available at the SAMHSA website:

The Category II, TSA Centers program seeks to address behavioral health disparities among racial and ethnic minorities by encouraging the implementation of strategies to decrease the differences in access, service use, and outcomes among the racial and ethnic minority populations served.  (See PART II:  Appendix F – Addressing Behavioral Health Disparities.)

Children of deployed military personnel have more school, family, and peer-related emotional difficulties in comparison to national samples.  Therefore, SAMHSA has identified military families as a priority population under this funding opportunity.

Deadline: May 11, 2016

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible applicants are domestic public and private nonprofit entities.  For example:

  • State and local governments;
  • Federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) tribes and tribal organizations;
  • Urban Indian organizations;
  • Public or private universities and colleges; and
  • Community- and faith-based organizations.

Applicants may also apply for the NCTSI Category III, Community Treatment and Services (CTS) Center cooperative agreements.  However, if SAMHSA receives applications from the same applicant organization for a NCTSI Category II, TSA Center and Category III, CTS Center, SAMHSA will only fund an application in either a Category II or Category III but not both.  SAMHSA may consider priority score, balance among programs, and geographical distribution when making funding decisions.



Funding Type





Medical - Basic Science
Social Sciences

External Deadline

May 11, 2016