NOAA -- Pacific Islands Region Sustainable Recreational and Non-Commercial Fishing Program

Funding Agency:
Department of Commerce

The National Marine Fisheries Service (hereinafter, “NMFS”) is soliciting competitive applications for the fiscal year 2020 Recreational and NonCommercial Fisheries Competition for the Pacific Islands Region (Hawaii, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and American Samoa). This competition seeks to support recreational and non-commercial fishing projects in the Pacific Island Region (PIR) that improve sustainable fishing opportunities, maintain stability of fish stocks, and protect cultural fishing traditions. 

Deadline: Apr. 10, 2020

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible applicants are individuals, institutions of higher education, nonprofits, commercial organizations, state, local and Indian tribal governments. Federal agencies and their employees, as well as Federal instrumentalities (including employees and members), are not eligible to apply. 

Projects must be conducted within Hawaii, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), or American Samoa.



Amount Description

Total funding available under this notice is anticipated to be approximately $100,000. Approximately 1 - 5 awards are anticipated to be granted for FY 2020 under this competition. Actual funding availability for this program is contingent upon FY 2020 Federal appropriations. Proposals in excess of $30,000 are unlikely to be funded.

Funding Type





Environmental & Life Sciences

External Deadline

April 10, 2020