Pauli Murray Book Prize

Funding Agency:
African American Intellectual History Society

The African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS) is pleased to announce the 2024 Pauli Murray Book Prize for the best book in Black intellectual history. Named after lawyer, author, and women’s rights activist-intellectual Pauli Murray, the prize will recognize the best book concerning Black intellectual history (broadly conceived) published between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023 by a member of AAIHS. AAIHS board members are not eligible. 

The winner of the 2024 Pauli Murray Book Prize will receive $1,000, a featured week-long roundtable on the book in Black Perspectives, and a featured interview published in Black Perspectives. The prize is open to scholars at all stages of their academic careers. Five finalists will be announced and their books will be featured on Black Perspectives in early March 2024.

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2024 Pauli Murray Prize Entry,” must be mailed directly to each of the committee members listed below. Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2023 and before January 1, 2023. Books may be sent by the author or the publisher. Please note that authors who are not AAIHS members will not be considered for the prize. Membership must be current by October 1, 2023. All submissions must be postmarked to each committee member by October 1, 2023.

Agency Website

Funding Type





Arts & Humanities
Social Sciences

External Deadline

October 1, 2023