Sponsor Deadline
Posted: 5/15/2023

PEO Scholar Award

The P.E.O. Scholar Awards (PSA) program was established in 1991 to provide substantial merit-based awards for women of the United States and Canada who are pursuing a doctoral level degree at an accredited college or university.

The P.E.O. Scholar Awards are one-time, competitive, merit-based awards intended to recognize and encourage academic excellence and achievement by women in doctoral-level programs. These awards provide partial support for study and research.

P.E.O. Scholars have demonstrated their ability to make significant contributions in their chosen field of study, having assumed leadership positions in university academics, scientific research, medicine, law, performing arts, international economics, history, literature, government and other demanding fields.

Nominations of potential Scholars are accepted from P.E.O. chapters between August 20 and November 20 each year. Nominees then have 45 days after their nomination is approved to complete their application. Awards are announced in the spring of each year.

Eligibility Requirements

A woman is eligible for nomination by a local chapter if  she:

  • Is a citizen or legal permanent resident of the U.S. or Canada at the time of her nomination
  • At a minimum, has a bachelor’s degree
  • Is within two years of her graduation date and has at least one full academic year of work remaining to complete her doctoral-level degree as measured from the time the first award payment is made (August 1). Those in a multiple-degree program (e.g.,pursuing both an M.D. and a Ph.D.) must be with in two years of completing the entire program from that date.
  • Is enrolled in her program at an accredited U.S. or Canadian college or university. Study abroad is permitted provided the student is enrolled in a U.S. or Canadian postsecondary institution.
  • Is enrolled part time at the time of nomination, provided she is enrolled full time during the year of the award