Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research

Funding Agency:
American Association for Cancer Research

The prestigious Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research was established in 1997 to recognize a scientist of international renown who has made a major scientific discovery in basic cancer research or who has made significant contributions to translational cancer research.

Eligible candidates must continue to be active in cancer research, have a record of recent, noteworthy publications, and be conducting ongoing work that holds promise for continued substantive contributions to progress in the field of cancer.

The Award is intended to honor an individual scientist. However, more than one scientist may be co-nominated and selected to share the award in the event that their investigations are intimately related in subject matter and have resulted in work that is worthy of the award and a joint nomination.

The Award recipient will receive an unrestricted grant, a commemorative award, and present a scientific lecture in conjunction with the AACR Annual Meeting immediately following their selection. The Award recipient will also present scientific lectures at the University of Padua and at the University of Trento in Italy, just prior to the official Award ceremony in Trento, Italy in May 2021.

Deadline for Nominations: July 31, 2020

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

  • Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.

  • The Award will be presented to an individual investigator.

  • Nobel Prize winners are ineligible to receive the award.

  • Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the award.

Funding Type





Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational

External Deadline

July 31, 2020