Philip Hauge Abelson Award (for Scientific Achievement) -- Call for Nominations

Funding Agency:
American Association for the Advancement of Science

The American Association for the Advancement of Science invites nominations for the 2023 AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize. The prize was established in 1985 by the AAAS Board of Directors. A monetary prize of $5,000, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration to the AAAS Annual Meeting, a complimentary one-year AAAS membership, and reimbursement for reasonable travel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting to receive the prize are given to the recipient. The Prize will be presented at the 2023 AAAS Annual Meeting.

The Philip Hauge Abelson Prize was established to be awarded to someone who has made significant contributions to the scientific community — whether through research, policy, and/or civil service — in the United States. The awardee could be a public servant, scientist, or an individual in any field who has made sustained, exceptional contributions and other notable services to the scientific community.

Deadline for Nominations: June 15, 2023

Agency Website



Funding Type





Engineering and Physical Sciences
Environmental & Life Sciences

External Deadline

June 15, 2023