Funding Agency:
Fundación Princesa de Asturias

The Princess of Asturias Foundation is a non-profit private institution whose essential aims are to contribute to extolling and promoting those scientific, cultural and humanistic values that form part of the universal heritage of humanity and to consolidate the existing links between the Principality of Asturias and the title traditionally held by the heirs to the Crown of Spain.

From the Foundation’s creation in 1980, King Felipe VI served as Honorary President until his proclamation as King of Spain on 19th June 2014. Following this date, HRH Leonor de Borbón y Ortiz, Princess of Asturias, became Honorary President of this institution which annually convenes the Princess of Asturias Awards.

Aimed at rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions, these awards are granted in eight categories: the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Sports and Concord.

The deadline for submitting nominations is March 7, 2024.

Agency Website

Areas of Interest

  • Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts: aimed at recognizing the work of fostering and advancing the art of film-making, theatre, dance, music, photography, painting, sculpture, architecture or any other form of artistic expression.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences: aimed at recognizing creative and/or research work in the field of history, law, linguistics, education, political science, psychology, sociology, ethics, philosophy, geography, economics, demography or anthropology, as well as in the disciplines corresponding to each of these fields.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities: aimed at recognizing the work of fostering and advancing the sciences and disciplines considered humanistic activities or any activity related to social communication in any of its forms.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for Concord: aimed at recognizing the work of defending and advancing human rights, as well as promoting and protecting peace, freedom, solidarity, world heritage and, in general, the progress of humanity.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation: aimed at recognizing individual or collective work, in cooperation with another or others, to develop and promote public health, universal education, and the protection and defence of the environment, as well as the economic, cultural and social advancement of all peoples.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for Sports: aimed at careers which have become an example of the benefits that practising sports can bring to people, via the promotion, fostering and advancement of sport and sense of solidarity and commitment.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research: aimed at recognizing the work of fostering and advancing research, discovery and/or invention in the field of mathematics, astronomy and astrophysics, physics, chemistry, life sciences, medical sciences, earth and space sciences or technological sciences, including those disciplines corresponding to each of these fields as well as their related technologies.
  • Princess of Asturias Award for Literature: aimed at recognizing the work of fostering and advancing literary creation in all its genres.

Eligibility Requirements

Nominations may be submitted by:

  • Laureates from previous years;
  • members of the eight Juries, duly convened each year, provided they do not present nominations for the award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member;
  • Spanish embassies;
  • diplomatic representations in Spain;
  • renowned public figures and institutions;
  • other public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Amount Description

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of € 50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Funding Type





Arts & Humanities
Engineering and Physical Sciences
Environmental & Life Sciences
International Opportunities
Social Sciences

External Deadline

March 7, 2024