Sponsor Deadline
Posted: 9/6/2023

Richard N. Merkin Prize in Biomedical Technology

The Richard N. Merkin Prize in Biomedical Technology recognizes pathbreaking technologies that are demonstrably improving human health and the key individuals who contributed to their development. The prize illuminates the important work taking place across multiple disciplines, and in doing so supports and inspires continued innovation.

The Merkin Prize has an intentional focus on real-world impact, and a goal of shining a light on novel technologies and how these advances are transforming health care. It is administered by the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard. The prize annually celebrates a novel technology and recognizes the key contributors, including individuals and teams, from anywhere in the world with a cash award of $400,000.

Self-nominations are not permitted. Nominators may submit no more than two nominations per cycle. Nominators must be an individual, not an institution or an organization. There is no limit on the number of nominations that come from a single organization, department, or institution. 

Deadline: Dec. 6, 2023

Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility for the Merkin Prize extends to important, novel technologies that have had demonstrable clinical & real world impact on human health, such as prevention, diagnosis, or treatment, and the individuals and/or teams who were key contributors to its development. Technologies may have been created through work in academia, the commercial sector, or government. Submissions from nominators in any discipline will be considered. 

For the purposes of this prize, a technology is defined as an innovation or invention of a method or device, such as a lab technique, a computational method, a medical device, or a diagnostic test. Nominations for basic discoveries, such as biological pathways, or new uses of already invented technology, will not be considered. 

Each nomination must specify and demonstrate the technology’s clinical impact — past, present, and projected future. Technologies that are in either pre-clinical or clinical-trial phases of development are not eligible for the prize. 

Funding Type