Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History

Funding Agency:
American Historical Association

The Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History is sponsored jointly by the AHA and the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (RRCHNM) at George Mason University. It was developed by friends and colleagues of Roy Rosenzweig (1950–2007), the Mark and Barbara Fried Professor of History and New Media at George Mason University, to honor his life and work as a pioneer in the field of digital history.

This prize is awarded annually to honor and support work on an innovative and freely available new media project, and in particular for work that reflects thoughtful, critical, and rigorous engagement with technology and the practice of history.

Nominations must be submitted by May 15, 2024.

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

The prize will be conferred on a project that has been launched in the last two years and is publicly available. The prize recipient(s) will be expected to apply awarded funds toward the advancement of the project goals. Projects may be renominated, as long as a description is included about any updates since the original nomination.

Funding Type





Arts & Humanities

External Deadline

May 15, 2024