Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences

Funding Agency:
Wiley Foundation

Since 2002, the annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences has recognized breakthrough research in pure or applied life science research.

The Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences, awarded by the Wiley Foundation, celebrates research that champions novel approaches and challenges accepted thinking in the biomedical sciences. It honors a specific contribution or series of contributions that demonstrate significant leadership or innovation in the development of research concepts or their clinical application.

Past prize winners have been chosen because of their breakthrough research in areas as diverse as genetics, cell motility, folded proteins and siRNA. The impressive list of past recipients includes winners of the Nobel Prize and the Lasker Prize in basic medical research.

The Wiley Foundation invites and encourages the nomination of exceptional scientists or research teams whose work has achieved an impressive level of excellence. Nominations for the prize are accepted up through the end of September each year. Each nomination should be submitted by someone other than the nominee. More than one nomination can be made from the same organization and international nominations are encouraged.

Deadline for submission of nominations: August 31 of the current year

Agency Website



Funding Type





Environmental & Life Sciences
Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational

External Deadline

August 31, 2023