William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology

Funding Agency:
American Gastroenterological Association

Created in 1976, the William Beaumont Prize recognizes an individual who has made a major contribution that has significantly advanced the care of patients with digestive diseases through clinical or translational research. Since 2015, the prize has been awarded annually.

Deadline for nominations: Aug. 18, 2021

Agency Website

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees must be current AGA members and have demonstrated exemplary service to AGA, such as committee service and/or AGA fellowship. Candidates need not be gastroenterologists and consideration will be given to scientists and medical professionals from all fields; however, the nominee’s contributions must have significantly impacted the understanding and/or practice of gastroenterology as it relates to patient care. The recipient will be an individual who has made a unique and outstanding contribution of major importance to the field of gastroenterology, which will lead or has led to important new insights or advances in prevention, diagnosis, management or treatment of digestive disease.



Amount Description

The award recipient will receive a $5,000 honorarium, plus reimbursement of expenses to attend DDW, and an engraved award, which will be presented during Digestive Disease Week (DDW).*

Funding Type





Medical - Basic Science
Medical - Clinical Science
Medical - Translational

External Deadline

August 18, 2021